Bishops of North Dakota

Assisting Bishop                                          The Rt. Rev. Keith B. Whitmore

The Rt. Rev’d Keith B. Whitmore has served as Assistant Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Atlanta having arrived at the middle of April 2008. He previously served as the fifth Bishop of the Diocese of Eau Claire in northwestern Wisconsin from 1999 to 2008. Prior to being elected as bishop, Whitmore served congregations in Wisconsin, Missouri, and Kansas. He was serving as Dean of the Cathedral in Western Kansas when elected bishop. Ordained priest and deacon in 1977, he has undergraduate degrees in Mechanical Engineering and Theology, an MDiv. and D.D. from Nashotah House Seminary.

Bishop Whitmore also served as an Army Chaplain and retired after 27 years of service. He was a member on the Standing Commission on Ministry Development of the Episcopal Church and is former president of the Domestic Missionary Partnership and president of Affirming Catholicism, organizations devoted to the mission of the Church. He has also served as a trustee at Nashotah House Seminary and Berkeley Divinity School at Yale. Currently he is Chaplain to the Anglican Association of Musicians. He currently serves as President of Sarum America which provides workshops on topics of liturgical interest.

Bishop Whitmore has conducted workshops on Evangelism, Parish Development, Vision and Goal Setting, and Leadership Development in congregations around the country for over 30 years.

In addition to his duties in the Diocese of Atlanta, Bishop Whitmore also served as the Director of Episcopal Studies at the Candler School of Theology at Emory University and is Distinguished Professor of Anglican Studies in that program,.

Since his retirement in March of 2017, Bishop Whitmore served at the Church of St. Michael and St. George in Clayton, Missouri as Bishop-in-Residence, and as interim at a struggling parish in Connecticut.

Former Bishops of North Dakota

William D. Walker (1883–1896)
Samuel Cook Edsall (1899–1901)
Cameron Mann (1902–1913)
John Poyntz Tyler (1914–1931)
Frederick B. Bartlett (1931–1935)
Douglas H. Atwill (1937–1951)
Richard R, Emery (1951–1964)
George T. Masuda (1965–1979)
Harold A. Hopkins, Jr. (1980–1988)
Andrew H. Fairfield (1989–2003)
Michael G. Smith (2004-2019)